GML works with local government across Australia, providing a diverse range of heritage advice on local heritage issues, including conservation area assessments, local environmental plans (LEPs) and development control plans (DCPs), as well as providing specialist advice on and review of heritage assessments and development applications.


During the course of the Parramatta Historical Archaeological Landscape Management Study, GML displayed a sound appreciation of the pressures involved in managing archaeological issues at city development sites. The team worked diligently, and well outside the confines of their original offer to produce a landmark report and outstanding project outcome.

The innovative work carried out by GML has provided an excellent framework for decision makers within the City of Parramatta that clearly identifies the opportunities and constraints of specific sites. GML played a critical role in the successful project outcome.

NSW Heritage Office

During this complex and challenging project GML exhibited a high degree of professionalism in dealing with the broad range of stakeholders associated with the project. The company has contributed to this important Queensland Heritage Trails Network Project through its unique combination of skills in industrial heritage and tourism.

MJ Hayward, Blackall Shire Council

The GML team was chosen because of its innovative approach to assessing Conservation Areas, which included undertaking a complete inventory of all buildings in the areas, with a ranking system on a scale of 1 to 4. The team was efficient in its work, producing a comprehensive document within the specified timeframe. The team conducted public meetings/workshops in a professional manner. The document is now a very useful tool for Council and owners of buildings within these Conservation Areas and is being used as a basis for the preparation of Conservation Area Development Control Plans.

Rachel Kelly, City of Newcastle

Our clients include:

  • Ashfield Council
  • Bankstown City Council
  • Brisbane City Council
  • City of Sydney
  • Hornsby Shire Council
  • Ku-ring-gai Municipal Council
  • Leichhardt Municipal Council
  • Newcastle City Council
  • North Sydney Council
  • Mosman Council
  • Parramatta City Council
  • Randwick Council
  • Waverley Council
  • Woollahra Municipal Council